California voters continue Democratic voting patterns


Courtesy of the San Diego Union-Tribune

California senator Alex Padilla [D] speaks with California governor Gavin Newsom [D]. In the 2022 midterm election, both of these candidates won re-election.

During the midterm election held on the week of Nov. 8, the California electorate voted on various propositions and elected positions. As poll workers counted ballots through Nov. 9, most outcomes, similar to years past, appeared to lean heavily in favor of the Democratic party.

For California, a majority of races resulted in incumbent politicians being re-elected. Current Governor, Democrat Gavin Newsom, was elected in 2019, and handily won the gubernatorial race against Republican Brian Dahle. 

This year, only one of the two California U.S. senators was up for re-election. Voters re-elected Democrat Alex Padilla into the Senate over Republican Mark Meuser.

 Each state has between 1-53 House representatives based on population, making up the total number of 435 seats in the U.S House of Representatives. The number of federal representatives in a state is the same as the number of electoral college points, with California leading at 53. California has 53 different House districts, each represented by a different member of the House.

Marin County is within District Two, along with many other northern counties bordering the Pacific coast. Democrat Jared Huffman has represented District Two in the House of Representatives since 2013. This year, voters re-elected Huffman over Republican Douglas Brower. 

The Superintendent of Public Instruction manages the California Department of Education and oversees improvements to school programs. California voters re-elected Democrat Tony K. Thurmond over Nonpartisan Lance Ray Christensen. 

The Tamalpais Union High School District’s (TUHSD) school board hires and fires district staff, and decides how to allocate district funds to benefit the TUHSD community. People that live within TUHSD district this year could vote for three of six candidates for election to the board. Voters elected Cynthia C. Roenisch, Emily Uhlhorn and Kevin Saavedra. 

Proposition One was also on this year’s ballot.  A “yes” vote for Proposition One would enshrine the right to abortion in the California Constitution.  California citizens created this proposition after the U.S Supreme Court overturned Roe vs. Wade, a ruling that ensured the federal right to legal abortions. Approximately 66 percent of California voters approved this proposition, making abortion a state-wide constitutional right for all Californian citizens. 

Similar to previous elections, the California electorate continues to vote heavily in favor of Democratic candidates and liberal policies.